Skip navigation
The Australian National University


Officers, elected by the membership, comprise a President and an Executive Committee of eight members drawn from across the IPPA region. A Secretary-General and Editor(s) are appointed by the Executive Committee.

During the Hue conference of the Association in September 2018, Professor Philip Piper was selected by the Executive Committee as the next Secretary-General of IPPA, to replace Professor Ian Lilley, who held the position from 2009 to 2018. With this decision the President and Executive Committee finished their terms. During 2019, a new president and committee for IPPA will be elected.

Past presidents

President Term
†Wilhelm G. Solheim II (United States of America) 1976-1980
Jack Golson (Australia) 1980-1984
†V.N. Misra (India) 1984-1988
†Roger C. Green (New Zealand) 1988-1992
†R.P. Soejono (Indonesia) 1992-1996
Pisit Charoenwongsa (Thailand) 1996-2000
†Adi Haji Taha (Malaysia) 2000-2004
Tsang Cheng-hwa (Taiwan) 2004-2006
Willie Ronquillo (Philippines)

Nguyen Giang Hai (Vietnam)

Phon Kaseka (Cambodia)




Updated:  20 December 2018/ Responsible Officer:  IPPA Coordinator/ Page Contact:  IPPA Coordinator